T H EE N S E M B L E

JONE SAN MARTIN

© Dorothea Tuch

„Dance has no age. If dance is about relating movement, space and time, it all depends on how we want to define them. Instead of following models about how dance should evolve, I prefer to create new paths that could assure dance a future and a longer life in our bodies. Dance reaches beyond the body and the body reaches beyond its physical conditions. It’s a question of transgressing limits, especially the ones in our minds. Let’s dare to do it!“
Jone San Martin

Jone San Martin, born in Donostia/San Sebastian, Spain, in 1966, studied dance with Mentxu Medel at the Institut del Teatre in Barcelona and at Mudra International in Brussels. She was a dancer at the Ballet Nacional de España, at Ulmer Theater, with Jacopo Godani in Brussels and at the Ballet Royal de Wallonie in Charleroi. She joined Ballett Frankfurt in 1992 and was a dancer at The Forsythe Company from 2005 to 2015.

Since 2000, she has choreographed many of her own works. She was a guest at the Avignon Festival in 2004 where she performed the solo "Tourlourou", created for her by Carlotta Sagna, as part of the 'Sujets à Vif' series. In 2006, she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Asociación de Profesionales de Danza de Gipuzkoa. Since 2014, she is Associated Artist of Dantzaz Kompainia in Donostia. She curated the Performing Arts Programme for DDSS16 (Donostia/San Sebastian Cultural City in Europe 2016). Jone has been a member of the Dance On Ensemble since 2015.

E N S E M B L E

JONE SAN MARTIN

© Dorothea Tuch

„Tanz besitzt kein Alter. Wenn es im Tanz um die Beziehungen zwischen Bewegung, Raum und Zeit geht, denke ich, dass es allein davon abhängt, wie wir diese Dimensionen definieren. Besser als einfach gängigen Modellen zu folgen, wie sich die Tanzkunst zu entwickeln hat, ist es, neue Wege zu entwickeln, die der Tanzkunst eine Zukunft und ein längeres Leben – enthalten in unseren Körpern – geben kann. Tanz reicht über den Körper hinaus, und der Körper wiederum überschreitet seine physischen Grenzen... Es ist eine Frage der Grenzüberschreitung, besonders derjenigen in unseren Köpfen. – Lasst es uns wagen!!“
Jone San Martin

Jone San Martin, 1966 in Donostia/San Sebastian in Spanien geboren, studierte dort Tanz bei Mentxu Medel. Sie setzte das Studium am Institut del Teatre in Barcelona sowie am Mudra International in Brüssel fort. Später tanzte sie beim Compañía Nacional de Danza in Madrid, am Ulmer Theater und mit Jacopo Godani in Brüssel. Dem Ballett Frankfurt trat sie 1992 bei und war von 2005 bis 2015 Tänzerin der Forsythe Company.

Seit 2000 choreografierte Jone San Martin eine Vielzahl eigener Arbeiten. Mit dem von Carlotta Sagna für sie kreierten Solo „Tourlourou“ war sie 2004 im Rahmen der Reihe „Sujets à Vif“ zum Festival in Avignon eingeladen. 2006 erhielt sie den „Lifetime Achievement Award“ der Asociación de Profesionales de Danza de Gipuzkoa. Seit 2014 ist sie Associated Artist der Dantzaz Kompainia in Donostia. 2016 kuratierte sie das Performing Arts Programm von Donostia/San Sebastian Kulturhauptstadt 2016. Sie ist seit 2015 Mitglied des Dance On Ensemble.