E N S E M B L E

JAVIER AROZENA

Foto: Leticia Güell

Javier García Arozena was born in Santa Cruz de Tenerife in Spain. He trained in contemporary dance at the Andalusian Dance Center in Seville and later graduated from the Institut del Teatre de Barcelona. He has worked for Ramón Oller's company Metros and Thomas Noone Dance, both in Barcelona, dancing repertoire by Thomas Noone, Roni Haver & Guy Weizman and Johannes Wieland, as well as in “Sunday again” by Jo Strömgren in a co-production with Norrdans in Sweden. He has also danced with Cámaralúcida in Barcelona and is currently a guest dancer with Lava Compañía de Danza in Tenerife.

In 2010, Javier García Arozena joined the PostClassical Ensemble in Washington D.C. as a principal soloist for the production “El corregidor y la molinera”. He has worked as Ramón Oller’s assistant for productions with the Ballet Hispánico de New York, the Ballet des jeunes d'Europe in Marseille, the Ballet de Andalucía in Seville and the Dance Conservatory in Prague. As a teacher for contemporary dance he has worked at the Corella Dance Academy in Barcelona and currently teaches at Teatro Victoria in Santa Cruz de Tenerife and at the diversity collective Asociación Psicoarte / Cía Enbe Danza.

In December 2019, he presented two creations for the Canarios Dentro y Fuera Dance Festival, “Schwanengesang” and “Las Ellas”. His artistic practice investigates and articulates scenic codes and choreographic tools for unconventional spaces. The action “Zeitgeist”, for example, is the result of an artistic residency at TEA Tenerife, within the La Cresta programme.

E N S E M B L E

JAVIER GARCíA AROZENA

Foto: Leticia Güell

Javier García Arozena wurde in Santa Cruz de Tenerife in Spanien geboren. Er studierte zeitgenössischen Tanz am Andalusischen Tanzzentrum in Sevilla und schloss sein Studium am Institut del Teatre in Barcelona ab. Als Tänzer trat er Ramón Ollers Kompanie Metros und Thomas Noone Dance in Barcelona bei, wo er Repertoirewerke von Thomas Noone, Roni Haver & Guy Weizman und Johannes Wieland tanzte und auch in Jo Strömgrens "Sunday again" in einer Koproduktion mit Norrdans in Schweden zu sehen war. Er hatte ein Engagement bei Cámaralúcida in Barcelona und ist derzeit Gasttänzer bei Lava Compañía de Danza auf Teneriffa.

2010 war Javier García Arozena Erster Solist in der Produktion "El corregidor y la molinera" mit dem PostClassical Ensemble in Washington D.C. Er assistierte Ramón Oller bei Einstudierungen und Neuproduktionen mit dem Ballet Hispánico de New York, dem Ballet des jeunes d'Europe in Marseille, dem Ballet de Andalucía in Sevilla und dem Konservatorium für Tanz in Prag. Als Dozent für zeitgenössischen Tanz hat er an der Corella Dance Academy in Barcelona gearbeitet und unterrichtet derzeit am Teatro Victoria in Santa Cruz de Tenerife und am Diversity-Kollektiv Asociación Psicoarte / Cía Enbe Danza.

Im Dezember 2019 präsentierte er zwei Kreationen für das Tanzfestival Canarios Dentro y Fuera, "Schwanengesang" und "Las Ellas". In seiner eigenen künstlerischen Praxis beschäftigt er sich mit szenische Codes und choreografischen Tools, die er auf unkonventionelle Theaterräume anwendet. Die Aktion "Zeitgeist" beispielsweise ist das Ergebnis eines Künstleraufenthaltes an der TEA Teneriffa im Rahmen des Programms La Cresta.