T H EE N S E M B L E

TIM PERSENT

© Michiel Wouda

Tim Persent was born in South Africa in 1964 and has been a dancer and artistic collaborator with the dance company LeineRoebana in Amsterdam since 1994.

After graduating from Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance in 1986, he initially danced for Second Stride and Rambert Dance Company in London. From 1987 to 1994 he was a permanent member of the Rotterdamse Dansgroup. In the early 1990s he also worked with Ton Simons and the Brenda Daniels Dance Company in New York. In the Netherlands, he continued to perform in works by the choreographers Krisztina de Châtel, Paul Selwyn Norton, Michael Schumacher and Roland Shankula.

Tim Persent received two important Dutch arts awards for his dancing, the Silver Dance Prize in 1993 and the Golden Swan in 2004. When he celebrated 25 years on the stage in 2012, he presented “A Dance Concert” at Holland Dance Festival in The Hague, featuring choreographies by Ton Simons, LeineRoebana, Richard Alston and Ann van den Broeck.

Parallel to his dance career, Tim Persent has worked for several cultural institutions in different capacities. From 2005 to 2016 he was Artistic Director of the International Theaterschool Festival (IST) in Amsterdam. He remains on the board of directors of the dance collective MAN II O and the KunstenDialoog Foundation. He has also consulted for the Dutch Arts Council and the Dutch Performing Arts Fund. Since 2017 Tim Persent is teaching at CODARTS Dance Academy in Rotterdam and since March 2019 he is the first certified SAFE FLOOR coach in the Netherlands.

T H EE N S E M B L E

TIM PERSENT

© Michiel Wouda

Tim Persent, geboren 1964 in Südafrika, ist seit 1994 Tänzer und künstlerischer Mitarbeiter der Kompanie LeineRoebana.

Nach seinem Abschluss 1986 an der Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance tanzte er zunächst für die Londoner Kompanien Second Stride und Rambert Dance Company. Von 1987 bis 1994 war er festes Mitglied der Rotterdamse Dansgroup. Anfang der1990er Jahre arbeitete er parallel in New York mit Ton Simons und der Brenda Daniels Dance Company. In den Niederlanden tanzte Tim Persent weiterhin in Choroegrafien von Krisztina de Châtel, Paul Selwyn Norton, Michael Schumacher und Roland Shankula.

Für sein tänzerisches Schaffen erhielt er 1993 den silbernen Tanzpreis sowie 2004 den Goldenen Schwan, zwei bedeutende niederländische Auszeichnungen. Zu seinem 25. Bühnenjubiläum 2012 zeigte Tim Persent unter dem Titel „A Dance Concert“ Choreografien von Ton Simons, LeineRoebana, Richard Alston und Ann van den Broeck beim Holland Dance Festival in Den Haag.

Neben seiner Karriere als Tänzer engagiert sich Tim Persent weiterhin in diversen kulturellen Einrichtungen. So war er 2005-2016 Künstlerischer Leiter Tanz des International Theaterschool Festival (IST) in Amsterdam. Er ist weiterhin Vorstandsmitglied des Tänzerkollektivs MAN II O und der Stiftung KunstenDialoog und war als Berater u.a. für den für den nationalen Kulturrat sowie den Fonds der darstellenden Künste der Niederlande tätig. Seit 2017 lehrt Tim Persent an der CODARTS Dance Academy in Rotterdam und seit März 2019 ist er als erster in den Niederlanden zertifizierter SAFE FLOOR Coach.