T H EE N S E M B L E

CHRISTINE KONO

© Thierry Gründler

Christine Kono was born in California in the United States in 1946. In 1955 she began to study classical ballet with Igor Schwezoff and Harriet de Rea, followed by scholarships at Ballet Companies in San Francisco, New York and Chicago. From 1962 to 1971 she worked with George Balanchine, Martha Graham, Kazuko Hirabayashi, Anna Sokolow and Donald McKayle, dancing for the Pennsylvania Ballet Company and Eliot Feld's American Ballet Company.

Christine Kono arrived in Europe in 197I and danced at Tanzforum Köln for Kurt Jooss, Christopher Bruce, Glen Tetley and Jochen Ulrich. She graduated in 1981 with a master diploma for teaching dance at the Folkwang University in Essen. She was ballet master for Pina Bausch's Tanztheater Wuppertal from 1987 to 1994 and regularly taught The Forsythe Company in Frankfurt and Hellerau from 2007 to 2014.

Since 1999 she and Dimitris Kraniotis have been dedicated to researching the foundations of dance and movement, based on the teaching of Jerome Andrews. With Dimitris, she has created choreographic events that were presented in France, Germany and Greece.

She is currently guest professor at Ballet Preljocaj, Company Amala Dianor, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, Hollins University Dance Master’s Summer Program and the Centre National de la Danse Paris.

T H EE N S E M B L E

CHRISTINE KONO

© Thierry Gründler

Christine Kono wurde 1946 in Kalifornien, USA, geboren. Ab 1955 lernte sie Klassischen Tanz bei Igor Schwezoff und Harriet De Rea. Es folgten Stipendien in San Francisco, New York. Von 1962 bis 1971 arbeitete sie mit Georges Balanchine, Martha Graham, Kazuko Hiranbayashi, Anna Sokolow sowie Donald McKayle und tanzte als Solistin für die Pennsylvania Ballet Company und Eliot Feld‘s American Ballet Company.

Ab 1971 setzte sie ihre Karriere in Europa fort und tanzte im Tanzforum Köln für Kurt Jooss, Christopher Bruce, Glen Tetley und Jochen Ulrich. 10 Jahre später schloss Christine Kono ihr Diplom der Tanzlehre an der Folkwang Universität in Essen ab. Von 1987 bis 1994 war sie Ballettmeisterin am Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, 2007 bis 2014 unterrichtete sie regelmäßig die Forsythe Company in Frankfurt und Dresden.

Gemeinsam mit Dimitris Kraniotis arbeitet sie seit 1999 an einer Forschungsreihe, basierend auf der Bewegungslehre von Jerome Andrews. Mit Dimitris kreierte sie auch verschiedene choreografische Präsentationen, die in Frankreich, Deutschland und Griechenland zu sehen waren.

Derzeit ist sie Gastprofessorin u.a. für das Ballet Preljocaj, die Kompanie Amala Dianor, das Wuppertaler Tanztheater, das Master Sommerprogramm der Hollins University und das Centre National de la Danse.