T H EE N S E M B L E

CANDAS BAS

© privat

Candas Bas, born in 1975, is a Turkish director, choreographer and performance artist who lives and creates in Berlin. She has been working in every possible position in the performance art field. She is passionate about experimenting with different disciplines and has co-founded several art collectives as well as Ciplak Ayaklar dance company in Istanbul.

As a board member of the Actors Union Turkey she is enthusiastic about sociology and politics in art. Her work consists of an investigation of human psychology through socio-cultural perspectives and her choreographic research is based on the boundaries of human anatomy and its transformation through time and space.

Her choreographies have been performed to international acclaim at Les Floraisons du Botanique (FR), CCBE (Cultuur Centrum Berchem) Belgium, IX. Festival Internacional de Danca Contemporanea Portugal, Sofia Dance Week (BU),14.-15. and 16. Istanbul International Theatre Festival, IDANS, Diyalog Festival Berlin, Culturscapes Switzerland, Dansem (FR), Question de danse France, New Sounds of Istanbul (DE), Displaced Replaced and Radialsystem (DE).

T H EE N S E M B L E

CANDAS BAS

© privat

Candas Bas wurde 1975 in der Türkei geboren. Die  Regisseurin, Choreografin und Performancekünstlerin lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie hat Erfahrung in allen Bereichen der Darstellenden Künste und arbeitet grundsätzlich genreübergreifend. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied mehrerer Künstlerkollektive, darunter die Ciplak Ayaklar Tanzkompanie in Istanbul.

Als Vorstandsmitglied der Actors Union Turkey ist Candas Bas besonders sensibilisiert für den Einfluss von Soziologie und Politik auf die Kunst. Ihre Arbeiten sind durch einen soziokulturellen Blick auf individuelle Psychologien gekennzeichnet. Ihre Choreografien untersuchen die Grenzen menschlicher Anatomie in Raum und Zeit.

Candas Bas Werke habe international Anerkennung gefunden und wurden u.a. bei Les Floraisons du Botanique (FR), CBBE Cultuur Centrum Berchem (BE), IX. Festival Internacional de Danca Contemporanea Portugal, Sofia Dance Week (BU), 14., 15. Und 16. Istanbul International Theatre Festival, IDANS, Diyalog Festival Berlin, Culturscapes Schweiz, Dansem (FR), Question de danse France, New Sounds of Istanbul (DE), Displaced Replaced und Radialsystem (DE) gezeigt.