T H EE N S E M B L E

AMI SHULMAN

© Dorothea Tuch

„The body is a physical manifestation of being. The fact that a performer can express the essence of being through the intricacy of movement at any given moment, is to me, virtuosity redefined. The movement that exists within a movement is an expression that is as unique to each person as their fingerprint – an expression of infinite possibility. I don’t think we have begun to know how expansive the world is until we stand on this precipice of possibility.“
Ami Shulman

Ami Shulman, who was born in Johannesburg, South Africa, studied dance and performing arts at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, as well as psychology at the University of South Africa in Pretoria. She completed her Bachelor of Arts with five main subjects: choreography, direction, performance, scenography and psychology. In 1998, she won the Amanda Holmes Award for Best Choreography for Donna Belladonna, her final project in the Dramatic Arts Programme at the University of the Witwatersrand. In 1999, she studied dance at the School for New Dance Development in Amsterdam, continuing at the London Contemporary Dance School a year later. She has been living and working in Montreal since 2001.

From 2006, she danced at the Compagnie Marie Chouinard and performed in various works for José Navas/Compagnie Flak and Zab Maboungou/Compagnie Danse Nyata-Nyata. She has developed her own specific dance-training programme and taught it around the world.

She has been invited to lecture at various universities, including the Juilliard School in New York, the Rotterdam Danse Academy, the Brown University (Providence, USA), the University of the Witwatersrand (Johannesburg, South Africa), Cirque Du Soleil as well as the Concordia University (Montreal, Canada). She has taught professional dancers as part of Canada’s Springboard Project, for which she is Artistic Associate. Her training focuses on the floor as a key element in movements and the proprioceptive perceptions of dancers.

After joining the Compagnie Marie Chouinard, she became its artistic director on tours and managed rehearsals for both the Compagnie Marie Chouinard and Compagnie Flak.Together with the musician and video artist Joseph Butch Rovan, she has created a series of multi-media, interactive installations, most recently the 2014 sound and video installation Of the Survival of Images, which has been shown around the world. She is interested in media art and technology and in 2003 took part in a series of seminars on photography and film at the Concordia University in Montreal.

E N S E M B L E

AMI SHULMAN

© Dorothea Tuch

„Der Körper ist die physische Manifestation des Daseins. Dass ein Tänzer diese Essenz des Seins in jedem Moment durch die Feinheiten der Bewegungen zum Ausdruck bringen kann, das stellt für mich Virtuosität auf dem höchsten Level dar. Die Bewegung ist ein Ausdruck, der für jede Person so einzigartig ist wie ein Fingerabdruck – ein Ausdruck unendlicher Möglichkeiten. Ich glaube nicht, dass wir begreifen, wie weit sich unsere Welt erstreckt, bevor wir dieser Weite an Möglichkeiten begegnen.“
Ami Shulman

Ami Shulman, geboren in Johannesburg in Südafrika, studierte Tanz und Darstellende Kunst an der University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg sowie Psychologie an der University of South Africa in Pretoria. Ihren Bachelor of Arts machte sie mit fünf Hauptfächern: Choreografie, Regie, Performance, Szenografie und Psychologie. 1998 erhielt Ami Shulman den Amanda Holmes Award für „Beste Choreografie“ für ihre Abschlussarbeit „Donna Belladonna“ im Dramatic Arts Program der University of the Witwatersrand. 1999 studierte sie Tanz an der School for New Dance Development in Amsterdam und setzte die Studien im folgenden Jahr an der London Contemporary Dance School fort. Seit 2001 lebt und arbeitet sie in Montreal. Ab 2006 tanzte sie bei der Compagnie Marie Chouinard und war in verschiedenen Werken von José Navas’ Compagnie Flak sowie der Compagnie Nyata-Nyata von Zab Maboungou zu sehen.

International unterrichtete sie ein von ihr entwickeltes spezifisches Tanztraining. Als Dozentin wurde sie von diversen Hochschulen eingeladen, u. a. von der Juilliard School in New York, der Rotterdam Danse Academy, an der Brown University (Providence, USA), der University of the Witwatersrand (Johannesburg, Südafrika), dem Cirque Du Soleil sowie der Concordia University (Montreal, Canada). Regelmäßig lehrte sie darüber hinaus professionelle Tänzer im Rahmen des kanadischen Springboard Project, dem sie als Artistic Associate angehört. Ihr Training fokussiert den Boden als wesentliches Element der Bewegungen und der propriozeptiven Wahrnehmung der Tänzer.

Nach ihrer Aufnahme in die Compagnie Marie Chouinard übernahm sie die Künstlerische Leitung auf Tourneen und die Probenleitung sowohl für die Compagnie Marie Chouinard als auch für die Compagnie Flak von José Navas. Gemeinsam mit dem Musiker und Videokünstler Joseph Butch Rovan kreierte sie eine Reihe multimedialer,  interaktiver Tanz-Installationen, zuletzt 2014 die international gezeigte Sound- und Videoinstallation „Of the Survival of Images“. Sie interessiert sich für Medienkunst und -technik und belegte 2003 eine Reihe von Seminaren in Fotografie und Film an der Concordia University in Montreal.