T H EE N S E M B L E

AMANCIO GONZALEZ

© Dorothea Tuch

„Here we are, starting where most would stop. What a wonderful challenge! What a great responsibility to be taken! What a great chance to keep discovering new things and to develop creativity!“
Amancio Gonzalez

Amancio Gonzalez, who was born in Porgugalete in the Basque Country, Spain in 1967, began studying dance at the age of 20 at the Estudio de Danza Ion Beitia in Las Arenas, continuing at the Centre International de Danse Rosella Hightower in Cannes. He was a dancer at the Jeune Ballet International de Cannes, the Scottish Ballet in Glasgow, the NAPAC Dance Company in Durban, South Africa, the Rotterdamse Dansgroep, the Reflex Dansgeselschaft in Groningen and the Scapino Ballet Rotterdam. From 1999 to 2005, he was a dancer at Ballett Frankfurt under the direction of William Forsythe and later joined The Forsythe Company.

Since 1994, he has been creating his own works, which have been performed at festivals including Torino Danza and the Montpellier Dance Festival. The duet Siames, which he choreographed for two dancers from Garry Trinder’s NAPAC Dance Company was later taken into the repertoire. In 2005, he developed the five-part series Sonntags am Bahnhof in Frankfurt am Main (Palace, Bureau, Abandoned House, Keller and Up on the Roof) with Vanessa Le Mat. In 2007, he choreographed Un happen ness with Inma Rubio for the Torino Danza solo. In 2009, he choreographed the solo where we wear we were for Alla Anishenko for the Tanzpanorama festival in Frankfurt and performed short works called One night stand pieces every month at the Atelier Frankfurt. The solo Sin king in me at the Dantzaldia festival in Bilbao in 2009 was followed a year later by the duet Dead or Alive with Inma Rubio for the Long Night of Museums in Frankfurt.

Amancio Gonzalez has taught internationally as a freelance lecturer and ballet master and répétiteur at various dance companies and academies (including Ballett Frankfurt, Ballet National de Marseille, Ballet Preljocaj, Ballett Basel, Cullberg Ballet, Göteborg Danskom­pani, Danish Dance Theater, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, Alvin Ailey and The Forsythe Company). He was responsible for teaching Forsythe Improvisation and workshops at various companies and schools including the Ballet National de Marseille, the École National Superieur de Danse de Marseille, Tanzhaus Zürich, the Institut del teatre in Barcelona, Tanzhaus Köln, the University of Dance and Circus in Stockholm, the Architanz Studio in Japan, the Palucca Schule in Dresden and Codarts in Rotterdam. He trained as a ballet master with William Forsythe and Kathryn Bennetts.

E N S E M B L E

AMANCIO GONZALEZ

© Dorothea Tuch

„Hier sind wir nun – und beginnen da, wo die meisten anderen stehen bleiben würden. Was für eine wundervolle Herausforderung! Was für eine große Verantwortung! Was für eine Chance, Neues zu entdecken und die eigene Kreativität weiterzuentwickeln!“
Amancio Gonzalez

Amancio Gonzalez, 1967 im baskischen Porgugalete in Spanien geboren, begann das Tanzstudium im Alter von 20 Jahren am Estudio de Danza, Ion Beitia in Las Arenas und setzte es am Centre International de Danse von Rosella Hightower in Cannes fort. Er tanzte beim Jeune Ballet International de Cannes, Scottish Ballet in Glasgow, in der NAPAC Dance Company in Durban/Südafrika, der Rotterdamse Dansgroep, der Reflex Dansgeselschaft in Groningen und beim Scapino Ballet Rotterdam. Von 1999 bis 2005 war er Tänzer im Ballett Frankfurt unter der Leitung von William Forsythe und wurde anschließend in die Forsythe Company übernommen.

Seit 1994 kreierte Amancio Gonzalez eigene Werke, die u. a. auch beim Torino Danza sowie beim Montpellier Dance Festival gezeigt wurden. „Siames“ ist ein Duett für zwei Tänzer der NAPAC Dance Company von Garry Trinder, das später ins Repertoire der Company übernommen wurde. 2005 entstand die zusammen mit Vanessa Le Mat entwickelte fünfteilige Reihe „Sonntags am Bahnhof“ in Frankfurt am Main („Palace“, „Bureau“, „Abandoned House“, „Keller“, „Up on the Roof“). Gemeinsam mit Inma Rubio choreografierte er 2007 „Un happen ness“ für das Festival Torino Danza. Auf das Solo „Sin king in me“ beim Festival Dantzaldia 09 in Bilbao 2009 folgte ein Jahr darauf das Duett „Dead or Alive“ mit Inma Rubio für die Lange Nacht der Museen in Frankfurt. 2009 choreografierte Amancio Gonzalez für das Festival Tanzpanorama in Frankfurt das Solo „where we wear we were“ für Alla Anishenko und zeigte monatlich im Atelier Frankfurt kürzere Stücke unter dem Titel „One night stand pieces“.

Amancio Gonzalez unterrichtete international als freischaffender Dozent sowie als Ballettmeister und Repetitor bei verschiedenen Tanzkompanien (u. a. Ballett Frankfurt, Ballet National de Marseille, Ballet Preljocaj, Ballett Basel, Cullberg Ballet, Göteborg Danskompani, Danish Dance Theater, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, Alvin Ailey und Forsythe Company). Für Forsythe-Improvisation und Workshops verpflichtet wurde er u.a. am Ballet National de Marseille, der École National Superieur de Danse de Marseille, dem Tanzhaus Zürich, dem Institut del teatre in Barcelona, dem Tanzhaus Köln, der University of Dance and Circus in Stockholm, dem Architanz Studio in Japan, der Palucca Schule in Dresden und am Codarts in Rotterdam. Seine Ausbildung zum Ballettmeister erhielt er bei William Forsythe und Katheryn Bennets.