T H EE N S E M B L E

BRIT RODEMUND

© Dorothea Tuch

„The body and its scope change with age, but this change has always been taking place and didn’t start at the age of 35. I can be more precise today about what interests me, about the questions I have for myself, dance and the people I work with, and about what I think is important for me to learn and experience – mentally as well as physically. There is something there that no longer needs to be said or shown, and yet is an intrinsic part of every movement. Experience is inscribed and stored in the body. A type of essence that has emerged over the years now expresses itself with a different sense of urgency and enters into contact with dance, people and the public. I don’t see age as a limitation of the scope to express myself, but rather as an organic process that allows me to use this scope to focus more resolutely and express myself creatively.“
Brit Rodemund

Brit Rodemund, born in Berlin in 1971, was trained at the Staatliche Ballettschule Berlin from 1982 to 1990. She was a finalist at the Prix de Lausanne in 1989 and a year later won the Grand Prize in the National Ballet Competition in the GDR. From 1990 to 1995, she danced at the Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin, from 1991 as a soloist. She then went to Martin Puttke’s Aalto Ballett Essen where she won the Aalto Stage Prize for her portrayal of Tatjana in John Cranko’s Onegin. In 1998, she moved to Ballett Nürnberg under the direction of Daniela Kurz. She has been a freelancer since 2000 and works with various artists. In the critic’s poll for the journal tanz in 2011, she was voted Dancer of the Year for her performance in Helena Waldmann’s production revolver besorgen.

Since 1999, she has been teaching classical dance at various dance schools in Berlin, Stuttgart and Ottawa and has trained dance companies in St. Gallen and Braunschweig. From 2007 to 2010, she taught classical dance at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Art in Berlin. In 2014, she was ballet master for the Hessisches Staatsballett Wiesbaden/Darmstadt under the direction of Tim Plegge.

At theatres in Berlin, Essen and Nuremberg, she has danced in choreographies by Rudolf Nurejev, George Balanchine, Patrice Bart, Nacho Duato, Maurice Béjart, Maryse Delente, Ramon Oller, Birgit Scherzer, Mario Schröder, William Forsythe and Daniela Kurz, for example. She has worked as a freelancer with Marco Santi, Christian Spuck, Katja Wachter, Christoph Winkler, Silvana Schröder, Zufit Simon, Efrat Stempler, Nina Kurzeja, Tomi Paasonen, Dansity Amsterdam, MS Schrittmacher and Tim Plegge, among others.

T H EE N S E M B L E

BRIT RODEMUND

© Dorothea Tuch

„Der Körper und seine Möglichkeiten verändern sich mit dem Alter, aber diese Veränderungen fanden zu jeder Zeit statt und begannen nicht erst mit 35 Jahren. Ich kann heute genauer sagen, was mich interessiert, welche Fragen ich an mich, den Tanz und die Menschen habe, mit denen ich arbeite und was mir wichtig erscheint, noch zu lernen und zu erfahren - geistig wie auch körperlich. Da ist etwas, was nicht mehr erzählt oder gezeigt werden muss, und trotzdem in jeder Bewegung mitschwingt. Eine Art Essenz aus all den Jahren, die sich jetzt mit einer anderen Dringlichkeit äußert und in Kontakt tritt mit dem Tanz, den Menschen und dem Publikum. Dabei sehe ich das Alter nicht als Limitation meiner Möglichkeiten mich auszudrücken, sondern als organischen Prozess, mich eben mit diesen Möglichkeiten noch konkreter zu fokussieren und künstlerisch zu äußern.“
Brit Rodemund

Brit Rodemund, 1971 in Berlin geboren, wurde von 1982 bis 1990 an der Staatlichen Ballettschule Berlin ausgebildet. 1989 war sie Finalistin beim Prix de Lausanne und gewann ein Jahr darauf den Ersten Hauptpreis beim nationalen Wettbewerb der DDR. Von 1990 bis 1995 tanzte sie an der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin, ab 1991 als Solistin. Danach ging sie zum Aalto Ballett Essen von Martin Puttke und wurde für ihre Interpretation der Tatjana in John Crankos „Onegin“ mit dem Aalto Bühnenpreis ausgezeichnet. 1998 wechselte sie zum Ballett Nürnberg unter der Leitung von Daniela Kurz. Seit 2000 arbeitet sie freischaffend und kooperiert mit verschiedenen Künstlern. In der Kritikerumfrage der Zeitschrift „tanz“ wurde sie 2011 mit der Produktion „revolver besorgen“ von Helena Waldmann zur Tänzerin des Jahres gewählt.

Seit 1999 unterrichtete Brit Rodemund klassischen Tanz an verschiedenen Tanzschulen in Berlin, Stuttgart und Ottawa und trainierte die Tanzkompagnien in St. Gallen und Braunschweig. Von 2007 bis 2010 vermittelte sie klassischen Tanz an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“. 2014 war sie als Ballettmeisterin für das Hessische Staatsballett Wiesbaden/Darmstadt unter der Leitung von Tim Plegge tätig.

An Theatern und Opernhäusern in Berlin, Essen und Nürnberg tanzte sie u. a. in Choreografien von Rudolf Nurejew, George Balanchine, Patrice Bart, Nacho Duato, Maurice Béjart, Maryse Delente, Ramon Oller, Birgit Scherzer, Mario Schröder, William Forsythe und Daniela Kurz. Freischaffend arbeitete sie u. a. mit Marco Santi, Christian Spuck, Katja Wachter, Christoph Winkler, Silvana Schröder, Zufit Simon, Efrat Stempler, Nina Kurzeja, Tomi Paasonen, Dansity Amsterdam, MS Schrittmacher und Tim Plegge.